Home / Entertainment / Villains of & # 39; Avengers: Infinity War & # 39; – Understand the black order

Villains of & # 39; Avengers: Infinity War & # 39; – Understand the black order

Thanos & # 39; Black Order is actually younger in the comics than the movie that first brought together Iron Man, Thor and Captain America.

Sure, Thanos has taken six years between the The Avengers of 2012 and the Avengers: Infinity War this week to launch his plan for universal domination. But he was not taking things easy during all that time, at least part of what was spent on organizing the Black Order, a team of mortal minions who will carry out all their orders … as long as it is violent and includes spoiling a good one or two on the road.

Movie audiences may not be familiar with the new Avengers antagonists, so let's take a closer look at the origins of The Black Order – and examine some of the adjustments that were made to the movie. There is a very important difference: the movie versions are also called Children of Thanos, which, if taken literally, would mean that both Gamora and Nebula of Guardians of the Galaxy are their sisters. In the film, the survivors of the Thanos massacres are also called Children of Thanos.

The Black Order is a relatively recent addition to the Thanos comics mythology, debuting in 2013 New Avengers No. 8, as part of the "Infinity" story that ran the entire Marvel line at that moment. As originally presented, the Black Order was essentially the executioners of Thanos, a group of aliens whose loyalty to their leader only rivaled their relentless efficiency in carrying out their orders. (These orders were basically to help Thanos invade planets and subjugate those who lived in them, or simply kill them: for a group of intergalactic psychopaths, it was not the hardest job in the universe)

As part of "Infinity, "The Black Order attacked the Earth and wreaked havoc on the world's superheroes, demonstrating how great of a threat they could be. Notably, the Order fought individually, rather than as a team, with each member testing more than enough to manage multiple superheroes at once. In case a clue was not enough about how terrifying they might be, a later appearance would see them team up with Hela, the public of the Goddess of Death knows of Thor: Ragnarok defending his as they helped her to try to steal an alternative universe Mjolnir.

Not all comic Black Order made the leap to the big screen, curiously; of the five original members of the group, only four appear in Avengers: Infinity War with Supergiant – a telepathic alien who, despite his name, is not particularly big at all – being completely absent. She was, however, murdered by Lockjaw, the dog of the Inhumans, in the comics, so perhaps the lack of cinematic fame is the price she pays to be defeated by a covered puppy.

With minor spoilers to follow, the four that do appear in the next movie are …

Corvus Glaive

One of the Black Order more reliable by Thanos, Glaive, in addition to being immortal for as long as the blade of his weapon is in one piece, it is a demonstration of how badly a Thanos character judge really is; he went behind Thanos' back when the latter was missing, forming his own version of the Black Order to try to create his own empire. When Thanos discovered what had happened, Glaive committed suicide with the shattered remains of his own weapon in an attempt to escape punishment. Michael James Shaw plays him in the film, becoming a particular thorn in the side of Vision. Or, more specifically, directly through his torso, on more than one occasion.

Black Dwarf

Apparently invincible, Black Dwarf is the brute force of the group, looking like the alien version of a fantasy barbarian and favoring weapons like a mace and an ax to make the job. Not only one of the less strategic members, he is also one of the most disadvantaged, at least in comic book mythology, where he was simultaneously rejected for his attempt to invade Wakanda before being killed by Ronan the Accuser while not protecting a captured . space station of liberation. (You may notice that several members of the Black Order have died, all have been revived, thanks to the logic of the comic). Renowned Cull Obsidian for the film – an alternative name for the same group in the comics – he is the giant threat that faces the armor of Hulkbuster, and is played by Kong: Skull Island & # 39; s Terry Notary.

Ebony Maw

If Maw's name does not inspire terror, the character himself will probably do so. Genius and master manipulator, Ebony Maw also possesses unusually strong powers of persuasion, in addition to having the ability to teleport, which is probably useful when people discover what they are convinced that others do for him and would like to leave quickly. Who is more likely to turn one of the Avengers into a traitor, just for the fun of evil? That will be the guy, played by Tom Vaughan-Lawlor in the film, where he is busy with Dr. Strange and the question of how to put Time Stone's hands.

Proxima Midnight

In addition to rocking the most metallic name of the group, Midnight is possibly the deadliest Black Order (played by Carrie Coon in the film). She is a skilled hand-to-hand fighter who also has a spear that she likes to use, understandably, considering that she can transform into a laser by command. As with other members of the group, has also been killed at least once in the continuity of the comic, but at least can boast an excellent choice of killer: Hela herself. On the screen, he proves to be a match for each of the heroines of the Marvel film universe, with his fight with Black Widow and Okoye as one of the many highlights of the film.

Avengers: Infinity War

Source link