Users who do not accept the privacy terms cannot read texts


In this photo illustration taken on November 6, 2020, a user updates the Facebook WhatsApp application on his mobile phone in Mumbai.

In this photo illustration taken on November 6, 2020, a user updates the Facebook WhatsApp application on his mobile phone in Mumbai.
Photo: Indranil Mukherjee / AFP (fake images)

After causing a huge virtual collapse with the announcement of your new privacy policy, And then postponing the implementation of such a policy due to online fury, WhatsApp has spent the last few weeks trying not to cause trouble. However, it has newly revealed what will happen to users who do not accept your new privacy policy before the deadline of May 15.

Apparently, WhatsApp has been sending an email to some of its business partners to inform them that it will “slowly ask” users to accept the new privacy policy “to have the full functionality” of the application, according to TechCrunch, who saw an email and confirmed its veracity with WhatsApp. The email also pointed to a WhatsApp Public FAQ page titled “What Happens On Your Effective Date?”

The FAQ page states that WhatsApp will not delete the accounts of users who do not accept the new terms, but who will not be able to use it as they normally do.

“If you have not accepted by then, WhatsApp will not delete your account. However, you will not have the full functionality of WhatsApp until you accept. For a short time, you will be able to receive calls and notifications, but you will not be able to read or send messages from the application, ”wrote WhatsApp.

If the “for a short time” part It has you scratching your head, WhatsApp put it together, something like that. Users who do not accept the new privacy policy for On May 15, they will be considered inactive users and will be subject to Whatsapp existing policy on that front, as detailed below.

“To maintain security, limit data retention, and protect the privacy of our users, WhatsApp accounts are generally deleted after 120 days of inactivity,” WhatsApp states. “Content stored locally on a user’s device prior to account deletion will remain until WhatsApp is removed from the device. When a user re-registers for WhatsApp on the same device, their locally stored content will reappear. “

Now after reading this, it still wasn’t clarify whether WhatsApp would delete the accounts of people who have not accepted its privacy policy after 120 days. Gizmodo reached out to WhatsApp to ask for clarification. We will be sure to update this blog if we hear back.

Besides keeping its head down, WhatsApp has also been trying to reassure users who have no nefarious plans to share their personal data with its parent company, Facebook. (It should be noted that tThe company has been sharing basic metadata with Facebook, such as anonymous phone brand identifiers, since 2016). Just to be clear the new app privacy policy does not affect users They only use the app to message friends and family right now. The changes only apply to companies that use WhatsApp to communicate with their customers.

In Thursday, WhatsApp announced that it would begin displaying an in-app banner providing more information about its privacy policy “that people can read at their own pace.”

“Eventually, we will begin to remind people to check and accept these updates to continue using WhatsApp,” WhatsApp said.

Interestingly, in the announcement, WhatsApp mentioned that it was important for people to know “how can we provide WhatsApp for free”. The company said it charges businesses for providing “customer service” on the app and engages Facebook so businesses can manage their inventory between apps.

While some users may be outraged by Whatsapp northeastw privacy policy, which, remember, does not affect individual users for now, this enterprise update is an important reminder that few things are really free in technology. If a service or app claims it’s free, don’t forget that it probably paying for it with your information.

.

Source link