US visitors will continue to be banned from entering the EU | World News

Most visitors to the US will continue to be banned from entering the European Union due to the country’s rising infection rate to an extent that runs the risk of antagonizing Donald Trump.

In an attempt to save the European tourist season, representatives from the 27 member states agreed on a list of 15 countries from which people should be allowed to enter the EU from July 1.

Travelers from China will be among those who are allowed entry if Beijing corresponds despite doubts about the accuracy of the information leaving the country.

The other countries from which the EU agrees to allow the block to travel are Algeria, Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, Montenegro, Morocco, New Zealand, Rwanda, Serbia, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia and Uruguay.

Visitors from the US, Russia, Brazil and India, where infection rates remain high, will be excluded despite initial arguments from some EU governments that they wish they had offered more help to keep the drug industry afloat. tourism.

At the height of the pandemic in mid-March, the European Commission had warned member states that non-essential travel from outside the EU should not be allowed.

The list, which will be updated every two weeks, is for information only and EU member states can deviate if they wish. But capitals have been warned of the dangers if they go their own way and expand the number of countries from which to travel.

Despite leaving the EU on January 31, the UK has been treated as a member state as it remains part of the bloc’s single market. But although Brussels has wanted to coordinate with the British government, Downing Street has not participated in the EU’s internal deliberations and the bloc’s conclusions on who can travel to the bloc are not legally binding.


Check Also

US judge denies Dakota Access motion to reconsider pipeline closure order

NEW YORK (Reuters) – A federal judge denied an emergency request from the owners of …