United States banned, but here are 14 countries that can visit

After four months of travel bans, Europe will soon be officially open to visitors from at least 14 countries. Not the United States or Brazil and Russia. But Australia, Canada, Japan, and South Korea do.

After much debate, particularly over the inclusion criteria, the final list of approved countries should be revealed earlier this week. EU officials again discussed on Friday which countries will make the list and which will not.

According to Le Monde This resulted in a list of 14 countries that will receive the green light to travel to Europe from July 1. The list will be reviewed every fortnight, as the return of Europe’s international tourism gradually develops. It will certainly be constantly expanding.

These are the first birds in alphabetical order, for whom the EU plans to first lift the travel ban:







South Korea



New Zealand





Note: Arrivals from Andorra, Monaco, the Vatican and San Marino are also welcome.

China and reciprocity in opening borders

In addition to infection rates in other countries, and its Covid-19 response, another factor weighs heavily: whether the country has lifted travel restrictions in the EU. Something that is not yet the case with President Trump’s travel ban on Europe. Although the health situation rules out the United States for now in any case.

For China it is different. Represents a type of No. 15 in the initial list. But its inclusion depends on it opening its borders to EU travelers. “Chinese travelers could enter Europe, but on condition that their country respects the principle of reciprocity by authorizing Europeans to travel to China,” reports the France-Presse agency. “This is not the case at the moment, and is considered unlikely in the short term.”

Why did that list shrink so dramatically?

According to Euronews, 54 countries were on a draft list obtained “from EU diplomatic sources” on Thursday. “It is clear that these numbers may continue to fluctuate.”

Was the debate over the epidemiological criteria used to determine the two lists that saw you shrink dramatically in one day heated up? From 54 to 14 is a fluctuation. As the EU border reopens to non-essential international travel for the first time since March 17, a list of some 50 countries has been on the table for a week.

The draft of the above list offers an idea of ​​some other third country nationals who will soon be welcome in the EU / Schengen area. In addition to the Caribbean nations, it includes many other countries in Southeast and Central Europe, as well as Africa, the Western Pacific, and Southeast Asia.

Prohibited countries

It is understood that around 50 nations have also been included in a prohibited (“red”) list. Borders will not reopen quickly. In addition to the United States and Russia, for now they are known to include Israel, Turkey, and Saudi Arabia.

Unlimited for UK travelers

UK travelers are being treated as fellow Europeans during the Brexit transition period. Until the end of the year, they enjoy unrestricted travel and are exempt from the travel ban, says the EU. The UK also plans to keep Americans at bay, with a quarantine on arrival.