Thirty-one players called up to the U-23 USMNT training ground prior to the CONCACAF Men’s Olympic Qualification Championship

CHICAGO (March 1, 2021) —U.S. U-23 Men’s National Team Head Coach Jason Kreis called 31 players to training camp prior to the Concacaf Men’s Olympic Qualification Championship in Guadalajara, Mexico.

The USMNT U23 will train together in Mexico before Kreis selects the final roster for the 20-player tournament later this month. The United States begins Olympic qualification on Thursday, March 18 against Costa Rica at 5 p.m. ET, faces the Dominican Republic on Sunday, March 21 at 7 p.m. ET, and concludes the group stage against Mexico on Wednesday, March 24 at 9:30 pm ET. All three US group stage matches will be broadcast on FS1 and TUDN.

“We are excited to finally return to Guadalajara before the Olympic qualification tournament,” said Kreis. “A lot has changed since March 2020, but we have seen our pool of players grow and gain invaluable experience over the last year. We look forward to a few weeks of preparation before the tournament and we are grateful for the cooperation of the clubs to free their players for this important training ground. I am confident that the group we have assembled can achieve our ultimate goal of qualifying for the Tokyo Olympics. “

U-23 USMNT training camp listing by position (club; hometown):

Matt Freese (Philadelphia Union; Wayne, Pa.), Jonathan Klinsmann (LA Galaxy; Munich, Germany), JT Marcinkowski (San Jose Earthquakes, Alamo, California), David Ochoa (Real Salt Lake; Oxnard, California)

Julian Araujo (LA Galaxy; Lompoc, California), George Bello (Atlanta United FC; Douglasville, Ga.), Marco Farfan (LAFC; Gresham, Oregon), Justen Glad (Real Salt Lake; Tucson, Ariz.), Aaron Herrera ( Real Salt Lake; Las Cruces, NM), Henry Kessler (New England Revolution; New York, NY), Mauricio Pineda (Chicago Fire FC; Bolingbrook, Ill.), Miles Robinson (Atlanta United FC; Arlington, Mass.), Austin Trusty (Colorado Rapids; Media, Pennsylvania), Sam Vines (Colorado Rapids; Colorado Springs, Colo.)

MEDIA (8):
Frankie Amaya (FC Cincinnati; Santa Ana, California), Cole Bassett (Colorado Rapids; Littleton, Colorado), Johnny Cardoso (International / BRA; Denville, NJ), Hassani Dotson (Minnesota United FC; Federal Way, Washington), Andrés Perea (Orlando City SC; Medellín, Colombia), Tanner Tessmann (FC Dallas; Hoover, Alabama), Eryk Williamson (Portland Timbers; Alexandria, Va.), Jackson Yueill (San Jose Earthquakes; Bloomington, Minn.)

Jesús Ferreira (FC Dallas; McKinney, Texas), Brooks Lennon (Atlanta United FC; Paradise Valley, Ariz.), Jonathan Lewis (Colorado Rapids; Plantation, Florida), Ulysses Llanez (Heerenveen / NED; Lynwood, California), Benji Michel (Orlando City SC; Orlando, Fla.), Djordje Mihailovic (CF Montreal / CAN; Jacksonville, Fla.), Ricardo Pepi (FC Dallas; McKinney, Texas), Sebastian Saucedo (UNAM Pumas / MEX; Park City, Utah), Sebastian Soto (Norwich City / ENG; San Diego, California)

The training camp roster features 15 players who have been internationalized by the senior USMNT and 16 who have played in a junior World Cup.

A total of 14 players made the USMNT’s game day roster against Trinidad and Tobago last month, a 7-0 victory. Defenders George Bello and Aaron Herrera, as well as midfielders Andrés Perea and Tanner Tessmann, made their senior team debut, while forwards Jesús Ferreira and Jonathan Lewis scored their first full international goals. Before the game, 18 players participated in the USMNT U-23 January training camp. All but six players have been involved with the USMNT program since it returned to action in November 2020.

The Olympic qualifying tournament was originally scheduled for March 2020, but was postponed due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Players born on or after January 1, 1997 are eligible by age for the competition and Kreis selected 13 players born in 1997, five born in 1998, one born in 1999, four born in 2000, six born in 2001, one born in 2002 and one born in 2003 for training camp.

The tournament features eight nations divided into two groups of four teams. The top two finishers in each group will advance to the fundamental semifinals that will send two winners to the Tokyo Olympics as representatives of Concacaf. The two winners will also meet in the final on March 30.

Source link