The selections of the 2019 NCAA men's lacrosse tournament were announced.


INDIANAPOLIS – The Men's Lacrosse Committee of Division I of the NCAA announced the field for its championship tournament today.

The following conferences and their representatives received automatic qualification:

Automatic lacrosse qualifiers for men DI
Conference School
East-east conference University of Maryland, Baltimore County
Big East Conference Georgetown
Big Ten Conference State of Penn
Colonial Athletic Association Towson
The ivy league Pennsylvania
Atlético Atlantic Atlantic Conference Marist
Northeast Conference Robert morris
Patriot League Army West Point
South conference Richmond

The rest of the field was selected in general: Duke, Johns Hopkins, Loyola Maryland, Maryland, Notre Dame, Syracuse, Virginia, Yale.

SUPPORT: Follow the interactive.

The game of the first round between Marist and UMBC will take place on Wednesday, May 8 in Poughkeepsie, New York. The eight first round competitions will take place on the weekend of May 11th to 12th.

Penn State received the first seed number 1 and will face the winner of the first round game of Marist and UMBC on May 12 at Noon Eastern. The No. 2 seed Duke will receive Richmond on May 12 at 5 p.m. Oriental. Virginia, the third seed, will receive Robert Morris on May 11 at 7:30 p.m. Oriental. Pennsylvania is the No. 4 seed and will host the West Point Army on May 11 at 5 p.m. Oriental.

Favorite number 5, Yale, will host Georgetown on May 11 at 2:30 p.m. Oriental. Like the No. 6 seed, Towson will receive Maryland on May 12 at 2:30 p.m. Oriental. Notre Dame No. 7 will host Johns Hopkins on May 12 at 7:30 p.m. Eastern, while the No. 8 seed, Loyola Maryland, will host Syracuse on May 11 at Noon Eastern.

All games in the first round of Division I will be televised on ESPNU. The quarterfinal games will be televised on ESPNU on May 18 at James M. Shuart Stadium in Hempstead, New York, and on May 19 at Rentschler Field in East Hartford, Connecticut. The games of semifinals and championships of Division I, and the championship of Division II and III. games, will be held at Lincoln Financial Field in Philadelphia, May 25-27 and will be organized by Drexel University. The Division I semifinals will be televised live on ESPN2 starting at noon Eastern time on May 25. The championship game will be televised live on ESPN2 starting at 1 p.m. Eastern time, May 27.

For additional information, including the purchase of tickets for each round of the lacrosse championship, game schedules and location, visit

LACROSSE CHAMPIONSHIP OF MEN: Main stories | Buy tickets | History

Source link