The release of electrons from Rocket Lab is delayed when bad weather threatens



[ad_1]

  Rocket Lab's electron launch delayed as bad weather approaches

A Rocket Lab Electron rocket is ready for launch at the company's launch facility in New Zealand.

Credit: Rocket Lab

Due to bad weather, the commercial launch of Rocket Lab has delayed the launch of the second test of its Electron rocket.

The launch was scheduled for today (December 7) from the company's private launching complex in New Zealand. The 4-hour launch window was extended from 8:30 p.m. at 12:30 a.m. EST (0130 to 0530 GMT on December 8), which is at 2:30 p.m. at 6:30 p.m. New Zealand time on December 8.

With a 10-day launch window, Rocket Lab representatives said the company will try another launch tomorrow during the same 4-hour window. However, the representative said that the forecasts of bad weather would be extended during the weekend, so the launch could be delayed until at least Monday.

The company will offer a live broadcast of the launch on the startup's website, starting about 15 minutes before the anticipated release.

Although the company has not officially started commercial operations, the rocket carries three small satellites for customers.

Follow Calla Cofield @callacofield . Follow us @Spacedotcom Facebook [19659014] and Google+ . Original article in Space.com .

[ad_2]
Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.