The “Llámame por tu nombre” and “Forma de agua” awards collect prizes from L.A. Film Critics Assn. –

The “Llámame por tu nombre” and “Forma de agua” awards collect prizes from L.A. Film Critics Assn.


Los Angeles Film Critics Assn. I felt a lot of love for Luca Guadagnino's "Llámame por tu nombre" and Guillermo del Toro's "La forma del agua" during their annual awards deliberations on Sunday.

Guadagnino's mature story about a 17-year-old American The boy who falls in love with his father's badistant played by Armie Hammer won the best film. And Timothée Chalamet was named best actor for his performance as the young American in Italy.

Guadagnino and Del Toro shared the management prize thanks to a tie vote from the group of critics.

Del Toro's "The Shape of Water" also won several other honors. Star Sally Hawkins was named best actress for her portrayal of a mute woman who works in a government lab and falls in love with the captured sea creature. Director of photography Dan Laustsen also won for his cinematography. Composer Alexandre Desplat was a finalist in the music / scores category, and Paul D. Austerberry was a finalist in the production design of the Fox Searchlight film.

The award for supporting actor went to Willem Dafoe for his work on "The Florida Project," with Sam Rockwell announced as a finalist for his portrayal of a morally conflicted cop in "Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri."

Laurie Metcalf won the award for the supporting actress for her role in "Lady Bird," with Mary J. Blige announced as a finalist for her performance in "Mudbound."

Jordan Peele won the script award for "Get Out"; the finalist was Martin McDonagh for "Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri."

The winner of the animation was "The Breadwinner", with Pixar hit "Coco" as a finalist.

There was a tie in the vote in foreign language. , with "BPM" from France and "Loveless" from Russia sharing the prize.

Dennis Gbadner won the production design award for his work on "Blade Runner 2049," and Lee Smith won for his "Dunkirk" edition. Tatiana S. Riegel was a finalist for her editing work in "I, Tonya".

Jonny Greenwood took home the music award for the score of "Phantom Thread" directed by Paul Thomas Anderson, set in the fashion world of the 1950s in London.

"Faces Places", directed by the strange pair of world art Agnes Varda and JR, won the prize for the documentary / non-fiction film, with "Jane", Brett Morgan's documentary about the chimpanzee researcher Jane Goodall, finalist.

The Douglas Edwards Experimental Film Award was awarded to Lee Anne Schmitt in "Purge This Land."

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.