‘The Apollo’ (about Legendary Theater) and ‘Apollo 11’ win primetime Emmy Awards night 1

This year’s creative arts and other pre-telecast awards are being divided into five (Count ’em) nightly shows.

Apollo, An HBO film about a Harbo theater, won the Primetime Emmy Award on Monday (September 14) for a special documentary or nonfiction special. This year’s creative arts and other pre-telecast awards are being divided into nighttime shows leading to the Primetime Emmy Awards to be televised next Sunday (Section 20). This first night was devoted to reality and non-fictional programming.

Apollo Beat the fierce competition – Beastie Boys Story (Apple TV +), (Michelle Obama) Becoming (Netflix), Great hack (Netflix) and Laurel Canyon: A Place In Time (Epix).

Apollo 11The 1969 space launch, which put humans on the moon, won three awards on the night. There were only many other winners on Knight 1 Ru paul’s drag race (VH1) and Cheer (Netflix). Each picked up two awards.

Here is the complete list of winners for night 1:

Excellent documentary or non-special Apollo (Hbo)

Excellent Hosted Nonfiction Series or Special Leah Rimini: Scientology and the Aftermath (A&E)

Outstanding short nonfiction or reality series National Geographic Present Cosmos: Creating Possible Worlds (Net live)

Excellent Structured Reality Program Queer ey (Netflix)

Excellent casting for a reality show RuPaul’s Drag Race (VH1)

Excellent cinematography for nonfiction programs Cave – Muhammad Khair Al Shami, Ammar Suleman and Mohammad Aid (Nut Geo)

Excellent cinematography for a reality program Life under zero (Episode: “The New World”) (Net Geo)

Excellent guidance for documentary / nonfiction programs – for Steven Bognar and Julia Reichert American factory (Netflix)

Excellent direction for a reality program – Greg Whiteley Cheer (Episode: “Daytona”) (Netflix)

Excellent music composition for a documentary series or special (original dramatic score) – For Laura Karpman Why we hate (Episode: “Tools and Tactics”) (Discovery Channel)

Outstanding narrator – David Attenborough Seven Worlds, One Planet (Episode: “Antarctica”) (BBC America)

Excellent picture editing for a non-event programApollo 11 – Todd Douglas Miller (CNN)

Excellent picture editing for a structured reality or competition program RuPaul’s Drag Race – Jamie Martin, Michael Roha, Paul Cross, Michael Lynn Des and Ryan Mallick (Episode: “I’m That Bitch”) (VH1)

Excellent picture editing for an unstructured reality programCheer – Editing Team (Episode: “God Blessed Texas”) (Netflix)

Excellent sound editing (single or multi-camera) for a non-reality or reality program Apollo 11 (Cnn)

Excellent sound mix for a non-reality or reality program (single or multi-camera)Apollo 11 (Cnn)

Excellent writing for nonfiction programsDon’t F ** k With Cats: An Internet Killer Hunting (Episode: “The Netting the Net”) (Netflix)

The event was hosted by Emmy-nominated host Nicole Baer nailed it. Presenters include Gina Cano (Mandalorian), Ruaul Charles (RuPaul’s Drag Race), Daryl Mitchell (NCIS: New Orleans), Rob Regal (Holi moli), Drew Scott (Property Brothers: Forever Home; Brother vs brother) And J.B. Smoove (curb Your Enthusiasm).

Areas of focus for the rest of the pre-telecast awards: Tuesday, September 15, Variety; Wednesday, September 16 and Thursday, September 17, Scripted TV; And Saturday, September 19, a mix of awards in various genres. Week night installments at 5 pm PT / 8 pm ET at www.Emmys.com. September 19 airs at 5 pm PT / 8 pm ET on FXX.

Leave a Reply