The 49ers put DFO Samuel on the NFI, waiving seven players in the series finale

Getty Images

The 49ers took several steps on Tuesday to establish their roster for the start of training camp.

The team announced that they had waived seven players, placed five on being physically unable to list and put two others on the non-football injury list. The final group includes wide receiver Debo Samuel, who broke his leg while working in June. General Manager John Lynch said on Tuesday that the team believed the wideout “may well miss some games” as a result of the injury.

Defensive back DJ Reid is also on the NFI list, while defensive lineman Ronald Blair, wide receiver Sean Poindexter, center Weston Richburg, defensive lineman Kentavius ​​Street and defensive lineman Julian Taylor are on the PUP list.

Linebacker Joey Alferi, cornerback Jermaine Kelly, safety Derrick Kindred, offensive lineman Ray Smith, quarterback Brock Rutter, wide receiver Chris Fink and defensive lineman Willie Henry were all exempt from the roster.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.