State Republican Party May Censor Senator Richard Burr For Trump Vote

The North Carolina Republican Party says it will vote later Monday whether to censure Republican Sen. Richard Burr for voting to convict former President Donald Trump at his Senate impeachment trial.

Burr was one of seven Republicans who crossed the aisle and voted with all 50 Democrats to convict Trump on the House charge of inciting an uprising on Capitol Hill on January 6.

But Trump was acquitted because the 57-43 margin fell far short of the 67 votes needed to convict.

A spokesman for the North Carolina Republican Party said in a statement Sunday night that the central committee will meet Monday night for the vote.

After the impeachment trial came to an end on Saturday, North Carolina Republican Party Chairman Michael Whatley criticized Burr.

“North Carolina Republicans sent Senator Burr to the United States Senate to defend the Constitution and his vote today to convict in a trial he declared unconstitutional is shocking and disappointing,” Whatley said in a statement.

Burr, who announced in 2016 that he would not seek reelection in 2022, defended his decision.

“The resident promoted unfounded conspiracy theories to question the integrity of a free and fair election because he did not like the results … [and] when the crowd turned violent, the president used his office to inflame the situation first instead of immediately calling for an end to the assault, ”he said on Saturday.

Burr voted to convict Trump along with Republican Senators Bill Cassidy of Louisiana, Susan Collins of Maine, Lisa Murkowski of Alaska, Mitt Romney of Utah, Ben Sasse of Nebraska and Pat Toomey of Pennsylvania.

The Louisiana Republican Party censured Cassidy on Saturday.

“The Louisiana Republican Party Executive Committee unanimously voted to censure Senator Bill Cassidy for his vote cast today to convict former President Donald J. Trump on the impeachment charge,” the party said in a statement Saturday night. .

Murkowski is the only one of the seven to run for re-election in 2022.

With pole cables


Source link