Romney Receives JFK ‘Profile In Courage’ Award For Voting To Convict Trump On First Impeachment Count –

Romney Receives JFK ‘Profile In Courage’ Award For Voting To Convict Trump On First Impeachment Count

Sen. Mitt Romney, Republican of Utah, received the 2021 “Profile in Courage” award from the John F. Kennedy Library Foundation Thursday for what the organization described as his “historic” vote to convict former President Donald Trump during his first impeachment last year. .

The foundation praised Romney for his “consistent and courageous defense of democracy” and noted that he was the first senator to vote to convict a president of his own political party.

“Senator Romney’s commitment to our Constitution makes him a worthy successor to the senators who inspired my father to write Profiles in Courage,” said Caroline Kennedy, who served as the United States ambassador to Japan during the former term. President Barack Obama. “It reminds us that our democracy depends on the courage, conscience and character of our elected officials.”

In February 2020, Romney was the only Republican senator to vote to convict Trump on an impeachment charge for “abuse of power.” Trump was accused of pressuring Ukrainian President Volodymyr Zelensky to investigate Joe Biden and his son, Hunter, before the 2020 presidential election. He was later acquitted.

Earlier this year, Romney joined a handful of Senate Republicans who voted to convict Trump on a single count of incitement to insurrection for his role in the Jan. 6 Capitol riots. Trump was acquitted again at trial.

Romney said he was “honored” to receive the award. Kennedy will present the honor in a virtual ceremony in May.


“I am honored by the recognition of the Kennedy family today,” Romney said in a statement. “But I see value every week in my colleagues in the Senate, many of whom make difficult decisions to do what they believe is correct, even if it is politically unpopular.”

Created in 1989, the John F. Kennedy Profile in Courage Award is given to “recognize and celebrate the quality of political courage you most admired,” according to the foundation’s website. Previous recipients include Obama, House Speaker Nancy Pelosi and the late Arizona Republican Senator John McCain.

Source link