SALEM, Oregon. (AP) – Oregon workers are getting a hole in the minimum wage but will also pay a new state transit tax.
The Statesman Journal reports that workers in the Portland area on Sunday saw the minimum wage jump to $ 12 per hour, or an increase of 75 cents. More rural parts of the state got an increase of 50 cents to $ 10.50. Workers in Marion and Polk counties earned 50 cents when the rate increases to $ 10.75 per hour.
The Legislature approved in 2016 a set of increases in the minimum wage until 2022, when the salary will be linked to inflation.  Oregon workers will now also pay a transit tax. The tax is .001 percent – $ 1 for every $ 1,000 – and employers will withhold tax from workers' wages.
Read more Nation & World Stories
That tax came into effect on Sunday. Pay for public transportation projects and improvements throughout the state.
Information from: Statesman Journal, http://www.statesmanjournal.com