Home / Uncategorized / Oklahoma Sooners quarterback Baker Mayfield named AP Player of the Year

Oklahoma Sooners quarterback Baker Mayfield named AP Player of the Year

NEW YORK – Baker Mayfield is the college football player The Associated Press, becoming the fourth Oklahoma quarterback to win the award since its inception in 1998.

Mayfield, the favorite of the Heisman Trophy, overcame Easily back to Stanford Bryce Love, who came in second. Louisville quarterback Lamar Jackson, winner of last year's Heisman, was third.

Mayfield received 51 first-place votes from the 56 college football survey voters who presented the year's ballot player, and a total of 157 points. Love (83 points) and Jackson (39 points) each received two votes in the first place. Penn State's runner, Saquon Barkley, took first place and came in fourth.

Mayfield, Love and Jackson are the finalists of the Heisman, which will be delivered on Saturday night in New York.

Mayfield is an old ride – in which he led the No. 2 Sooners to the college football tie-break, where they will play Georgia's third-place finish at the Rose Bowl on January 1. Mayfield leads the nation's passer efficiency ranking and has thrown for 4,340 yards and 41 touchdowns with only five interceptions.

Joins Josh Heupel (2000), Jason White (2003) and Sam Bradford (2008) as former Oklahoma winners. No other school has had more than two players win the AP Player of the Year award.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.