New York Yankees confused by call-up against Los Angeles Angels

ANAHEIM, Calif. – Confusion remained the predominant sensation for the New York Yankees on Friday night, while some still struggled to discover what happened during a strange sequence in the middle of their game against the Los Angeles Angels. [19659002] As he denied the possible three-run home run by Yankees first baseman Neil Walker to start a double play at the end of the inning, they still escaped the play with one run. Subsequent repetitions asked a question if they should have been granted.

That race finally turned out to be necessary for the Yankees, too. A rally in the ninth inning followed by Didi Gregorius' home run in the 10th helped New York escape the Angels, 4-3.

"I was not sure what was going on," Yankee left fielder Giancarlo Stanton said, one of the key players in the sequence in question. "It was one of those rare plays with repetition and all that."

The strange set of events occurred at the top of the sixth inning when Walker batted with runners in second and third and one out. Gregorius was in third place after reaching a single of the first touch. Stanton was at second base.

Two pitches in Walker's at-bat, he jumped a 0-1 fastball that looked out of the box as if it were a homer.

Angels right fielder Kole Calhoun had other plans. Calhoun, who previously caught a hard sinking line in the gap with a dive, jumped to the wall to grab the ball that Walker hit. While his glove came back over the wall with the ball inside, Calhoun turned and immediately threw himself to second base.

When shortstop Andrelton Simmons caught the shot inward and stepped on second base, second base referee Angel Hernandez sentenced Stanton out. Stanton did not score in the second and was out, the referee ruled.

But the replays showed that the runner did score at the same time that Calhoun caught the ball.

"I was pretty sure I scored." Stanton said. "At the moment, and I thought I was at least close enough to take a look.

In addition to the controversy over whether Stanton left the base early or not, there was more intrigue as to whether the out at second base had occurred before Gregorius entered home. Gregorius, who also placed from third position, could have crossed the line a moment after Simmons moved up to second.

Walker said: "Certainly there was some confusion there."

The referees' decision was that Gregorius had crossed "I thought that was the case, so I was focused on that, and when the home referee said he definitely scored, then I changed our attention," said the manager of the Yankees Aaron Boone said.

The Yankees took the lead 2-1 after the ruling.

Boone added that when he realized that he could have challenged the veracity of the referees' claim that Stanton had not scored, he had run out of time allotted to ask for a challenge.

According to the rules of MLB, the plays that involve the runners who score from second base are not reviewable. However, Boone could have challenged the game in the "limits" rules since the play started with an event in a limit (the wall). The league's review office could have reviewed the entire move and reversed any part of it that was incorrect.

"I should not have expected the challenge," Boone said. "It's a limit, I could have gone [and said to the umpires] if I had been ahead, & # 39; Limit & # 39; Look at everything in that context."


Source link