NASCAR Hall of Fame: Jeff Gordon, Davey Allison tops class 2019

Jeff Gordon, Jack Roush, Roger Penske, Davey Allison and Alan Kulwicki were selected for the NASCAR 2019 Hall of Fame clbad on Wednesday. Gordon, winner of four championships and 93 races, received the most votes and appeared on 96 percent of the ballots.

Roush got 70 percent, Penske 68 percent, Allison 63 percent and Kulwicki 46 percent. The next three best candidates were Buddy Baker, Hershel McGriff and Waddell Wilson. NASCAR veteran executive and former Darlington Raceway president Jim Hunter took home the Landmark Award for outstanding contributions to NASCAR.

The five legendary figures will be officially inducted into the NASCAR Hall of Fame on February 1, 2019.

Let's take a deeper dive into each of the future NASCAR Hall of Fame members

Jeff Gordon

  2017 IMSA Rolex 24 at Daytona

Getty Images

If in the past two decades you've asked someone to name a NASCAR driver, the answers you probably get are Dale Earnhardt and Jeff Gordon. The No. 24 Rainbow Warrior joined NASCAR in the 1990s, becoming the youngest driver in the modern area to win a Cup Series title at age 24 in 1995.

Gordon won three titles more in 1997, 1998 and 2001. In the 1998 championship season, Gordon took home a historic record of 13 wins. He retired with 93 total wins in 2015, including three victories in NASCAR's most prestigious race, the Daytona 500. Gordon also won the Brickyard 500 at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway a record five times.

Very honored to be part of 2019 @NASCARHall of the Fama clbad. I thank so many people who played a role in my career.

Thanks to everyone who voted. Really looking forward to the initiation ceremony.

– Jeff Gordon (@JeffGordonWeb) May 23, 2018

Jack Roush

  Subway Fresh Fit 500

Getty Images

In 1988, Roush started his own team, Roush Racing (now known as Roush Fenway Racing) and went on to do amazing things. As the owner, Roush has won a record of 325 races in the three NASCAR National Series. On top of that, Roush owns five owner championships in the NASCAR National Series with his drivers claiming three additional championships.

Some of the notable drivers that Roush impacted were 2003 champion Matt Kenseth and 2004 title winner Kurt Busch. Kenseth recently returned to the NASCAR Cup Series to drive Roush part-time at No. 6 with Trevor Bayne.

Roger Penske

  O & # 39; Reilly Auto Parts Challenge

Getty Images

Penske, known as "El Capitan," is one of the most successful owners in NASCAR history. Penske has been involved in racing for over 50 years and has won more than 100 races at the Cup level as owner. In 2016, Penske won the Bill France Excellence Award.

Penske won his first Cup Series championship in 2012 with current driver Brad Keselowski. Drivers Ryan Newman (2008) and Joey Logano (2015) brought Daytona 500 trophies for The Captain as well. Penske was also responsible for the construction of the Auto Club Speedway in Fontana, California, and the Michigan International Speedway.

Davey Allison

  gettyimages-809976844.jpg "data-lazy =" https: //sportshub.cbsistatic .com / i / r / 2018/05/23 / 3b3eb9ac-58b3-4bef-8468-c8c807972fda / resize / 670x377 / 17cf202ce65e9f219048fa1c0390cc91 / gettyimages-809976844.jpg "src =" "height =" 377 "width =" 670 "/> </div>
<p></span><figcaption clbad=
Getty Images

The son of NASCAR Hall of Famer Bobby Allison, Davey Allison took over from Cale Yarborough in the Ranier-Lundy Ford Thunderbird in 1987 and went on to make his father proud. Allison secured two wins, five poles and nine top-five finishes that season to secure the honor of Rookie of the Year.

Allison was one of the main candidates to vote on the vote of NASCAR fans. Part of that is due to his 19 victories and 14 poles, including the 1992 Daytona 500. Allison died in 1993 after being involved in a tragic helicopter crash.

Alan Kulwicki


Getty Images

The fifth NASCAR Hall of Famer Alan Kulwicki took home the 1986 Rookie of the Year without a major sponsor while driving for AK Racing, which he owned. He continued to reject sponsors throughout his career in favor of competing for himself.

Kulwicki won five career victories, the first was in Phoenix in 1988. He then won the championship in 1992 after surpbading a 278 points deficit with six races remaining. Kulwicki died in a plane crash in 1993 before having the opportunity to defend his title.

Source link