Major news outlets name women Biden to lead White House coverage

CNN named Katelyn Collins its chief White House correspondent, replacing Jim Acosta, who would be the anchor and chief domestic correspondent for the network.

ABC said Cecilia Vega would be its White House correspondent; The Washington Post named Ashley Parker as the newspaper’s White House bureau chief; Nancy Cordes will be the head White House correspondent of CBS News; And Kristen Welker will be the co-head White House correspondent for NBC alongside Peter Alexander.

Journalist Yamshe Alkendor has covered the White House for PBS NewsHour since 2018, and he will continue to do so during the Biden administration.

“I’ve always thought that women were in the front row – whether it was in the White House briefing room or any other,” Collins said. “I am thrilled among this formidable group of journalists.”

The list includes notable women of color, including Velkar, who became the first black woman to resolve a presidential debate in a general election since October 1992 in October last year.

“It is clear that diversity in all forms, including gender and race, is necessary to tell the stories of our generation in the most accurate and fair way,” Alkindor told CNN Business. “The American people are best served by a media that looks like a collage of experiences and backgrounds that make up this country.”

ABC Newston, a former ABC News White House correspondent, commented on how the gender balance in the briefing room has changed. “A generation ago, being the only woman was probably a blessing – I really stood out from the crowd.”

Compton said: “That day will come – must come – when it is not reported that the majority in any profession is female in the public eye.”

According to the incoming administration, starting on Wednesday, more women will be represented on both sides of the lecture, as Biden’s communications team is offered entirely by women.

Biden’s press secretary, Jane Psy, will hold the administration’s first on-camera press briefing on Inauguration Day.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.