Maine Republican Party rejects censorship of Senator Susan Collins

The Maine Republican Party voted Saturday against censuring Senator Susan Collins for her vote to convict former President Donald Trump of inciting insurrection.

The party struck down the censorship measure with a 41-19 vote.

“Today’s decision is a testament to the GOP ‘big tent’ philosophy that respects different points of view but unites around fundamental principles,” Collins said in a statement.

“Our party has been most successful when it has taken this approach to further our shared goals of providing tax breaks to families and small business job creators, pursuing fiscal responsibility and government accountability, promoting personal responsibility, protect constitutional rights and guarantee defense. “


Seven Republican senators voted to convict Trump for his role in the Jan. 6 Capitol riots, but most were not treated as kindly by his home party.

The Alaska Republican Party censured Senator Lisa Murkowski, the only one of seven facing re-election next year. The Louisiana Republican Party censured Senator Bill Cassidy and the North Carolina Republican Party censured Senator Richard Burr. The Pennsylvania and Nebraska Republican Party rebuked their senators, Pat Toomey and Ben Sasse, but did not censor. Movements to censure Sen. Mitt Romney in Utah have been unsuccessful.

Collins won a fifth term in January after a fierce battle for the seat with Democratic hopeful Sarah Gideon. Democrats poured money into the state for the race, but Maine’s largely moderate voting bloc elected Collins by a 9-point margin.


Collins and other moderates like Murkowski and Senators Kyrsten Sinema of Arizona and Joe Manchin of West Virginia, both Democrats, often dictate the fate of legislation in the 117th Congress, which Democrats closely control.

Source link