Los Angeles Film Critics Awards 2020: Winners List – Deadline

Members of the Los Angeles Film Critics Association (LAFCA) are gathering Sunday for their annual Best of the Year poll in films. The group will start deliberating on winners in 14 categories, honoring one winner and one runner-up.

LAFCA named Steve McQueen’s Small X Best Picture as runner-up alongside Chloe Zhao’s Nomadland. The two films switched locations with the Best Director category going to Zhao while McQueen was the runner-up.

Last year, critics in Los Angeles finally tapped the Best Picture winner Parasite As your choice for Best Picture. The director of that film, Bong Joon Ho, won Best Director.

Other big winners included Promising young ladyCarrie Mulligan received Best Actress Award, while the late Chadwick Boseman earned Best Actor Award for her role Ma raini’s black bottom.

New York Film Critics Circle Name ‘First Cow’ 2020 Best Film

The organization gave director, writer and star Radha Blanc a New Generation Award 40 years old version. Meanwhile, LAFCA awarded Career Achievement Awards for 106-year-old Hou Hsiao-hsien and Harry Belafonet Norman Lloyd receives the inaugural Legacy Award.

The awards season has been in stall mode due to the coronovirus epidemic, but New York Film Critics Circle kicked things off with the A24 award on Friday First cow As its best feature. The LAFCA voting date is much higher than the scheduled time; The previous year’s gathering was on 8 December. The latest date for the Oscar ceremony in 2021 is 25 April, which has pushed the entire kudos parade back.

Read the full list of LAFCA winners below.

Nice picture

Winner: SMALL AX

Runner-up: Nomadland

Best director

Winner: Chloe Zhao, Nomadland

Runner-up: Steve McQueen, SMALL AX

best Actress

Winner: Carey Mulligan, Professional Young Woman

Runner-up: Viola Davis, MA Rhine’s Black Bottom

Best actor


Runner-up: Riz Ahmed, Metal Sound

Best documentary

Winner: Time


Best script

Winner: Emerald Fennell, Promising Young Woman

Runner-up: Eliza Hetman, Never Somes Always

Best animation


Runner-up: SOUL

Best Supporting Actress

Winner: Winner: Yun Yuh-jung, Minari

Runner-up: Amanda Seyfred, MANK

Best Supporting Actor

Winner: Glennon Turman, MA Rhine’s Black Bottom

Runner-up: Paul Reiche, SOUND OF METAL

The editing

Winner: Yorgos Lamprino, Father

Runner-up: Gabriel Rhodes, Time

Best production design

Winner: Donald Graham Burt, MANK

Runner-up: Sergei Ivanov, BEANPOLE

Best Music / Score

Winner: SOUL

Runner-up: Lovers Rock

Best cinematography

Winner: SMALL AX, Shabier Kirchner

Runner-up: Nomadland, Joshua James Richards

Best foreign language film


Runner-up: Martin Eden

Douglas Edwards Experimental Film Award

Winner: John Gianvito’s HER SOCIALIST SMILE

New generation award

Winner: Radha Blanc, 40-Year-Old Version

Career achievement award

Hou Hsiao-hsien

Harry belafonnet

Legacy award

Norman Lloyd

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.