LA Critics names the best movie of 2017 “Call me by your name” –

LA Critics names the best movie of 2017 “Call me by your name”


NEW YORK – The Los Angeles Film Critics Association voted "Call Me by Your Name" the best movie of the year, awarding a total of three prizes for coming Erotic by Luca Guadagnino. of the story's age.

Critics, who announced their awards on Twitter on Sunday, also named the star of the film, Timothee Chalamet, best actor. Guadagnino shared the award for best director with Guillermo del Toro for "The Shape of Water". Del Toro's Cold War era fairy tale also won three awards, including the best actress for Sally Hawkins.

Me By Your Name "as an Oscar favorite The release of Sony Pictures Clbadics, which last week set the box office record of the year for the best screen average in its limited release debut, also won the best feature at the Gotham Awards last week, Chalamet, just 21, won three awards last week, beating veterans like Gary Oldman ("Darkest Hour") and Tom Hanks ("The Post").

"Lady Bird "by Greta Gerwig, whose New York Film Critics Circle, named best film, won a Los Angeles Critics Award: Laurie Metcalf for Best Supporting Actress, Los Angeles critics also gave Gerwig, whose film is her first effort as a solo director, her "new generation" award.

Los Angeles critics coincided in some categories with their New York counterparts, who announced awards on Tuesday. Willem Dafoe ("The Florida Project") as best supporting actor and "Faces Places" by Agnes Varda as best documentary.

But, as always, they deviated from most other forms. (Last year, critics in New York voted the best movie in "La La Land," while critics in Los Angeles opted for "Moonlight.") "Dunkirk" by Christopher Nolan, who considers himself an Oscar favorite but won little at first, took the best edition for Lee Smith.

The group also opted not for Pixar's "Coco" as best cartoon film, but for "The Breadwinner," an international production about a girl in Afghanistan. The best script was for Jordan Peele for "Get Out".

Best music or score was awarded to Jonny Greenwood for "Phantom Thread" by Paul Thomas Anderson. Critics of Los Angeles reached a tie for the foreign-language film, dividing the prize between the French "BPM" and the Russian "Loveless."

Other awards include Dan Laustsen for cinematography to "The Shape of Water" and Dennis Gbadner for the production design of "Blade Runner 2049."

The awards will be presented at a ceremony on January 13 in Los Angeles. Critics before chose actor Max von Sydow for his career prize.


Follow AP movie writer Jake Coyle on Twitter at:

Copyright 2017 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material can not be published, transmitted, rewritten or redistributed.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.