John Wolford of Rums kicks head

A historic drop in penalty flags helped ease the headlines on the NFL’s functioning in 2020. Therefore ended the review of repetition for the passed intervention. But the arrival of postson football has scrutinized every dubious call, rule interpretation and review.

No worries. We are here for you. This way you shake your head, scream on television or get confused during wild-card rounds after the call breaks down in real time. The most recent plays are at the top,.

Rams RB Cam Akers Reversed

Ram-Sehawks wild-card game, 46 seconds left in first half

What happened: Officials ruled that Seahawk defensive end Carlos Dunlap snatched the ball from Akers after a 3-yard run. The fumble recovery was credited to Seahawks cornerback Ryan Neal, who gave Seattle the ball at the Ram’s 26-yard line.

How it was resolved: The call was reversed in the replay review. The NFL ruler approached Amber before he faltered, and Ram retained possession.

Analysis: The league eventually got the game right, but like many other calls we saw during the wild-card weekend, it was hard to believe that NFL-caliber officials would see the play as a fumble. With Acres lying on his back, the ball tightened in his arm when Dunlop attempted to snatch the ball for the first time. Initially at least one officer ruled the Acres, but was ruled. It is always possible that ideas were blocked, and sometimes if they are in doubt, officials rule out a turnover to ensure that it can be properly countered in replay through automated review is.

But in this case, the replay may have reviewed the play, as there was less than two minutes left. This was the kind of decision that destroys confidence in the overall capability of the enterprise.

Officers raised flag to hit Ram QB’s head

Ram-Sewks wild-card game, 5:40 left in first quarter

What happened: As the Rams quarterback John Wolford arrives on the field after a two-yard run, Seahawk safety Jamal Adams lands his right shoulder and hits Wolford in the head. Officers initially threw a flag against Adams. Wolford left the game and was replaced by Jared Goff.

How it was resolved: Referee John Hussey announced that there would be no penalty as Wolfford was considered a runner and as such was not normally subject to protection for quarterfishing.

Analysis: It is true that Wolford would not get quarterback protection on that play, but the original flag was still merited. According to the NFL rule book, this is still an unnecessary roughness, as Wolfford was diving into the ground and thus defending himself. This means that they are classified as a defenseless player, and opponents are forcibly restrained in the head or neck area of ​​such players. It was the second year in a row that the Seahawks knocked in the starting quarterback from a playoff game that suffered a head injury. In that case, Jadevan Clooney’s hit on Eadles quarterback Carson Wentz was considered accidental and not forcible. Meanwhile, Wolford is rushed to the hospital for precautionary measures, according to a Ram spokesperson.

How was that not a thunder by the Colts?

Colts-Bills wild-card game, 50 seconds left in fourth quarter

What happened: On the game in the Colts ‘final possession on fourth-10, receiver Zach Pascal was credited with a 17-yard catch and fell to the Bills’ 46-yard line. Pascal wakes up and wobbles, which was achieved by Bill while playing games. However, officials on the field ruled that Pascal was below contact after initially collapsing.

How it was resolved: Bills coach Sean McDermott called a timeout, as the Colts hurried into Scrimage’s line, but could not challenge as there was less than 2 minutes left in the game. During the timeout, NFL was acting vice president of the NFL, reviewing the call. It was not immediately clear whether his review halted the game, or if it timed out McDermott. Regardless, referee Brad Allen announced that the call would be no further explanation.

Analysis: NFL said on Twitter There was no clear and unambiguous evidence available to overturn the ruling, and no pool report was sought in Buffalo to explain further. Because at replays it was confirmed that he had not been approached before Pascal got up, and that he was not down when he lost possession of the ball. If the NFL or Riveron provides any further clarification then we will update this post. But from all available evidence at the moment, the bills should have been given possession. If the Colts had come back to tie or win the game – the Bills won 27-24 – the decision would have been heavily scrutinized.

The clock runs after the horses clash

Colts-Bills wild-card game, 26 seconds left in fourth quarter

What happened: The game continued to run even after Colts receiver Michael Pittman Jr. was thrown out of bounds.

How it was resolved: The clock did not stop.

Analysis: The play caused panic on social media, but it was proper sports administration. The out-of-bounds foundation is not the same as a player going out of bounds. According to the NFL rule book: “If a fumble or backward pass by a player goes out of bounds, the game clock starts at the referee’s signal that a ball has been returned to the playground.”

Bill is credited with two sideline catches

Colts-Bills wild-card game, less than 2 minutes, second quarter

What happened: Bills receiver Gabriel Davis was credited with 37 and 19 yards of sideline receptions. In both cases, frame-by-frame replays revealed that it would not have lowered both legs in range.

How it was resolved: Since there was less than 2 minutes left, the NFL’s replay official reviewed both plays. In each case, referee Brad Allen merely announced that the original call was standing. Allen did not explain why there was an official cap on the field as Davis took the first catch; Often this means that a player or player has gone out of bounds and is no longer a qualified receiver.

Analysis: You can make a frame-by-frame decision that Davis’ left foot touched the white part of the sideline after the first catch. The same goes for the second reception, where he may not have fully pulled a toe before stepping out of bounds. But the NFL’s replay system requires a much higher standard than “could.” It should be “clear and unambiguous”, preferably in live-speed action, that Davis stepped out of bounds before gaining possession. If the on-field ruling was incomplete, the possibility of a review system would also be retained.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.