How to automatically delete all Telegram messages – tech2.org

How to automatically delete all Telegram messages


undefined

Screenshot: David murphy

Setting your messages to “auto-delete” is great, because it kills two birds with one stone – your various apps and social networks won’t get bogged down with conversations that no longer matter, and you won’t have to worry about the privacy concerns that arise with leave your messages forever. I especially love Telegram’s new approach to automatically deleting old messages – the app can now automatically delete entire conversations mutually. Sorry, people search old chats to discover something you said months ago.

To get started with this ever-useful feature, make sure you’ve updated to the latest version of Telegram to Android or ios, then launch the app and start a conversation. On Android, tap the three-dot icon, select “Delete history” and choose your duration.

On iOS, long press any message within the group chat. You will see an option to “Select” that message. Touch it and then touch “Delete chat” in the upper left corner. Then you will get this message:

undefined

Screenshot: David murphy

Tap Turn on auto delete and you can select whether chat messages should disappear for all members after a day or a week.

undefined

Screenshot: David murphy

Whatever you choose, on any platform, your group chat will automatically inform everyone that messages will now be automatically deleted. Be prepared for the ensuing flood of responses.

undefined

Screenshot: David murphy

That’s it. I recommend enabling this because honestly how often do you go back and look at old messages? If you think you will have to refer to something again, you can always take a screenshot before the message appears.

How to create Telegram invitation links for a limited time

Speaking of privacy, the Telegram update also adds new, expiring invites to the mix. This feature means that you can send invitations to your various groups and channels without worrying about those links giving anyone who finds them access to your chats forever.

To get started (on iOS, at least), open a group or channel, tap its icon in the upper-right corner, and tap Add members. Tap on Invite the group through a linkand then touch Manage invitation links. Tap on Create a new link, and then you can limit the number of times people use that link by a period of time (an hour to a week), expiration date, or number of users (and uses).

undefined

Screenshot: David murphy

While I’d love for the feature to come with the option to kick people out after a certain period of inactivity (sort of like Discord’s temporary invites to servers), the Telegram updates still provide incredibly useful means of managing your chats. more extensive.

.

Source link