Head of Kansas City, Green Bay Packers, Baltimore Ravens, Seattle Seahawks lead Pro Bowl selection

The heads of the Kansas City, Green Bay Packers, Baltimore Ravens and Seattle Seahawks each had a league-high seven players selected for the 2021 Pro Bowl.

Kansas City’s Patrick Mahomes and Green Bay’s Aaron Rodgers were named as the starting quarterbacks for their respective conferences. Each league is a strong contender for MVP; Mahome leads the NFL in passing yards with 4,462, and topped Rodger in touchdowns with 40.

Mahomes is joined by AFC quarterback Buffalo Bills ‘Josh Allen and Houston Texas’ Dea Watson. For the NFC, it’s Rodgers, Seattle’s Russell Wilson and Arizona’s Kylar Murray.

There will be no real game this season due to the COVID-19 epidemic. Instead, the players will be celebrated on 31 January. During two Pro Bowl-themed shows, one airs on ESPN / ABC Simulcast, featuring a virtual Pro Bowl experience within the Madden NFL 21 video game. Roster selections were determined by the votes of players, coaches and fans.

Pro bowlers of the majors include defensive end Frank Clarke, offensive Eric Fisher, receiver Tyrick Hill, defensive tackle Chris Jones, tight end Travis Kelsey and strong safety Tyron Matthews.

Baltimore has offensive tackle Orlando Brown, defensive tackle Kallis Campbell, long snapper Morgan Cox, cornerback Marlon Humphrey, linebacker Matthew Judon, fullback Patrick Ricard and kicker Justin Tyler.

“After everything that’s been like this year, it’s a real blessing to be back in this position again. Still playing football – and at a higher level – and being voted on by my teammates and coaches, It really means Brown said, it’s an honor that I really appreciate as a player.

For Green Bay, the other six representative receivers DeVante Adams, cornerback Zir Alexander, offensive tackle David Bakhtiari, guard Elgton Jenkins, Aaron Jones and linebacker Zadar Smith are left behind.

Seattle has strong safety Jamal Adams, special-tamer Nick Belor, free safety Quandre Diggs, receiver DK Metcalf, long snapper Tyler Ott and linebacker Bobby Wagner.

Other notable selections include Derrick Henry behind the Tennessee Titans, NFL head rusher, and highly productive receiver Keenan Allen of the Los Angeles Chargers and Stephen Diggs of the Bills for the AFC offense. On defense, linebackers TJ Watt of Pittsburgh and Darius Leonard of Indianapolis, Miami Dolphins ball-hawking cornerback Xavian Howard and Cleveland Brown teamed Miles Garrett.

For the NFC, such standouts as DeAndre Hopkins of Arizona, the Minnesota Vikings, running back Dalvin Cook, the New Orleans Saints running Alvin Kamara, and Philadelphia Eagles center Jason Kelce made it. So did New Orleans defensive end Cameron Jordan, Los Angeles Rams defensive tackle Aaron Donald, San Francisco 49ers linebacker Fred Warner, Rams cornerback Jalen Ramsey and Arizona strong safety Buddha Baker.

Washington rookie defensive end Chase Young produced the NFC squad, as did another 2020 first-round draft pick, Vikings receiver Jeffers Jefferson.

St Defensive and Trey Hendrickson were left out of the NFC squad despite being tied for the league lead in the sacks with 12.5.

In total, 26 were pro bowlers for the first time.

At the other end of the spectrum, the Dallas Cowboys were among five teams without a Pro Bowl player, the others being the Jacksonville Jaguars, New York Jets, Cincinnati Bengals and Carolina Panthers.

This is only the third time in their history that the Cowboys do not have at least one Pro Bowl representative, 1986 and 1989. From 2010 to 2019 the Cowboys had 26 Pro Bowl selections, behind only the Chiefs and Ravens.

ESPN’s Todd Archer and The Associated Press contributed to this report.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.