Google confirms that it will automatically delete your data: what you need to know



[ad_1]

<div _ngcontent-c14 = "" innerhtml = "

ASSOCIATED PRESS

In front of the annual Google I / O Developer Festival By opening its doors on Tuesday, Google has already made an important announcement: it will soon begin to delete its data automatically.

Writing in the official. Google security and safety blog.David Monsees and Marlo McGriff, product managers at Google Search and maps respectively, say the company is responding to comments from users who request simplifying the management of privacy and data security. "You can now use your Google account to access simple on / off controls for location history and web & app activity," they say "and if desired, delete all or part of the data manually. " What's new is that "automatic erasure controls" will soon be released that will allow users to set time limits on how long Google can save their data.

It is said that it will arrive in a matter of weeks, to begin with, the new controls will be applied to the location history, as well as to the activity data of the web and the application. Users can choose a time limit between three and 18 months after which data will be automatically deleted continuously. If you wish, you can delete this data manually, but in my opinion, never so humble is the possibility of automatically deleting them. Especially the reports given last year that suggested Google was storing location data even when users had deactivated location history and taking into account the process of manual removal somewhat arduous.

It's not that everyone will want to erase this data of course. As with most things online these days, it's about choosing between privacy and function. Actually, make a Balance between the two, if it is rare that someone is totally binary when it comes to such matters. Google says that this data "You can find more products for you, such as recommending a restaurant that you can enjoy or continue where you left off in a previous search." If you do not know any of my location data, thank you very much for persuading you, disabling the location history would completely seem like a better option given that some mobile devices applications can track location data When they are not running For everyone else, the new automatic removal controls will be a welcome weapon in the "Take control of at least some of your data." arsenal.

Keep checking the Data & amp; Customization section of your Google account settings, specifically the "Manage your activity controls." I imagine an option to see if the function has been developed for you in the coming weeks.

">

Before the annual Google I / O developer festival opens its doors on Tuesday, Google has already made an important announcement: it will soon begin to delete its data automatically.

By writing to Google's official security and protection blog, David Monsees and Marlo McGriff, the product managers of Google Search and maps, respectively, say that the company is responding to comments from users who request to simplify the administration of the privacy and data security. "You can now use your Google account to access simple on / off controls for location history and web and application activity," they say, "and if you wish, delete all or part of the data manually." The new thing is to quickly eliminate the "automatic removal controls" that will allow users to set time limits on how long Google can save their data.

It is said that it will arrive in a matter of weeks, to begin with, the new controls will be applied to the location history, as well as to the activity data of the web and the application. Users can choose a time limit between three and 18 months after which data will be automatically deleted continuously. If you wish, you can delete this data manually, but in my opinion, never so humble is the possibility of automatically deleting them. Especially in the reports given last year that suggested that Google was storing location data, even when users had deactivated location history and considered the manual removal process, which was somehow arduous.

It's not that everyone will want to erase this data of course. As with most things online these days, it's about choosing between privacy and function. Actually, make a Balance between the two, if it is rare that someone is totally binary when it comes to such matters. Google says that this data may be more useful to you, such as recommending a restaurant that you might like or helping you to continue where you left off in a previous search. "If you do not store any of my location data, thank you very much, then disable the history of locations altogether would seem like a better option since some mobile applications can track location data when they are not running.For all others, the new automatic removal controls will be a welcome weapon in the "arsenal of at least some of your data".

Keep checking the Data and Personalization section of your Google account settings, specifically the option "Manage your activity controls", I imagine, to see if the function has been implemented for you in the coming weeks.

[ad_2]
Source link