Facebook extends the Captcha test that asks for a clear picture of your face when suspicious activity is detected



[ad_1]

Facebook users begin to notice a new account verification test on mobile devices that asks them to upload a clear photo of their face, which will then be used to confirm that they are real people, similar to other basic tests. captcha that demonstrate that human users are not a bot. The selfies verification test has existed since at least this spring, but the story just now begins to spread after more users shared screenshots of the test on Twitter (through Wired ).

Facebook said Wired that this new photographic test was created to "help us detect suspicious activity at various interaction points on the site, including the creation of an account, the sending of friend requests, the setting up ad payments and creating or editing ads. "

a friend sent me this: Facebook now blocks users from the features of the account and then requires those users to "verify" that their account reappears by scanning an image of their face. AN IMAGE OF YOUR FACE. pic.twitter.com/T4TIsJFxX8

– may Amy Goodman stop inviting Assange by thx (@flexlibris) November 28, 2017

Each step of the process is automatic, from the moment that Facebook marks a suspicious activity account and requests a photo verification, to the actual process of verifying the uniqueness of the uploaded photo, which means that it would have to upload a photo that had not previously been shared on Facebook. Once the process is finished, Facebook said it will "permanently" remove the image of its servers. This is one of the "several methods" that the company uses to detect suspicious activities.

At the beginning of November, Facebook announced a test for a non-consensual intimate image pilot program, in which part of the process asked users to send those images to themselves in Facebook Messenger. This was intended to eventually prevent any of these images from spreading online by reviewing and mixing the image, which creates a digital fingerprint that can not be read by humans. In this way, if someone else tried to share the image on Facebook, the company's hashes database would detect the image and prevent it from loading.

As with any of the Facebook tests, it is not clear how widely available the new image verification system is, or whether it will be expanded to a broader user base in the future. According to a deleted tweet seen by Wired if Facebook asks you to start a photo session, it may be blocked from your account completely until you provide the image, with a message that says: "No you can log in right now, we'll get back to you once we've reviewed your photo, now the Facebook session will be closed as a security measure. "

[ad_2]
Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.