Eight states added to New York Governor’s quarantine order

People enjoy the sun on a beach near the Golden Gate Bridge amid the coronavirus outbreak on May 25, 2020 in San Francisco, California.

Liu Guanguan | China News Service | fake pictures

People arriving in New York from eight other states must be quarantined for 14 days amid the coronavirus pandemic, New York Governor Andrew Cuomo ordered Tuesday.

The eight additional states are California, Georgia, Iowa, Idaho, Louisiana, Mississippi, Nevada and Tennessee, all of which face an increasing burden of cases, Cuomo said in a statement.

The order, first issued on June 24, was already in effect for Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, Florida, North Carolina, South Carolina, Utah, and Texas.

All affected states have “a growing community expansion,” Cuomo said in a statement, which the state Department of Health defined as 10 or more people who tested positive for every 100,000 residents.

The order applies to both visitors and New Yorkers returning home from one of the states. Those who violate the quarantine order could face fines, Cuomo said.


Check Also

Four people killed in plane crash are identified

SALT LAKE CITY – People were identified aboard a plane that crashed on Friday morning …