ECHL announces revised start date for 2020-21 season

The ECHL Board of Governors, together with the Association of Professional Hockey Players, has approved a revised start date for the 2020-21 ECHL season. The anticipated start date is December 4, 2020 for the full 72-game schedule.

“We are eager to return to hockey, but at this time we believe that this decision is prudent to protect our players, staff and fans,” said ECHL Commissioner, Ryan Crelin. “The ECHL and our Board of Governors are focused on the 2020-21 season and remain optimistic about the safe reopening of our locations across the continent. We commend our colleagues and fans for continuing to support and be patient, as we work closely with our venues, local health officials, and members of the PHPA’s executive committee towards the safe return of ECHL hockey. ”

The ECHL 2020-21 season was originally scheduled to begin on October 16, 2020. Adjustments to the 2020-21 ECHL schedule will be announced later.

About ECHL

Started in 1988–89 with five teams in four states, the ECHL has developed into a coast-to-coast league with 26 teams in 19 states and two Canadian provinces for the 32nd season in 2019–20. After making his debut in the ECHL, there are 676 players who have gone on to play in the National Hockey League, including 14 who have made their NHL debut in the 2019-20 season. The ECHL has affiliations with 25 of the 31 NHL teams in 2019–20, marking the 23rd consecutive season that the league had affiliations with at least 20 teams in the NHL. More information about ECHL is available on its website Twitter And Facebook.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.