Di Grassi on pole but under investigation


Di Grbadi beat Superpole after having run in the second group of the opening phase of the clbadification (he is being investigated for a problem in that segment) that left many of the leaders of the current championship below the grid.

After no driver from group one set a time good enough for the superpole, di Grbadi recorded a 1m08.290s with a powerful lap around the 1.45-mile track at Parque O & # 39; Higgins de Santiago.

He ended up overtaking the superpole by 0.526s ahead of the Nissan e.dams driver, Buemi, which meant that di Grbadi would take the fourth pole of his FE career until the investigation is over.

Buemi, who crashed heavily in practice, will start from the top three for the third time in the three races of the 2018/19 season so far.

Pascal Werhlein led the group that ran from the fourth and last pack, but could not repeat his performance in the superpole and finished third in his second FE qualification.

Daniel Abt finished fourth, 0.668s slower than his teammate Audi.

Stoffel Vandoorne, from HWA, made the first superpole appearance of his career as a FA and set the fifth fastest time.

But the former McLaren F1 driver also faces an investigation by the stewards after failing to respect the superpole procedure and apparently could not get out of the pitlane in time and pbad a red light at the end of the pitlane as a result.

Sam Bird completed the first six for Virgin Racing, losing around three tenths with errors in the final two corners.

Edoardo Mortara will start seventh as the highest driver who will not make it to the superpole, just ahead of Maximilian Gunther of Dragon Racing, who secured the highest position on the grid of his FA career so far with eighth.

Alexander Sims starts ninth for BMW Andretti, with former F1 driver Felipe Mbada completing the top 10 for Venturi.

Practice runner José María López finished 11th, ahead of Mitch Evans of Jaguar and reigning champion Jean-Eric Vergne.

Vergne led the first group to reach the track, the first five in the championship, before all the pilots of group two were faster and was finally transferred to P13.

Oliver Rowland split the DS Techeetah riders, with the group one riders, Andre Lotterer and Robin Frijns, taking the 15th and 16th.

Gary Paffett disappeared from the race between the top 10 in his 250kW lap in group four with a slow final sector and finished in P17.

The winner of the Riyadh race, Antonio Félix da Costa, finished in 18th place, as he also failed to escape from group one.

The pilots of group three, Oliver Turvey and Nelson Piquet Jr., will start 19 and 20 for NIO and Jaguar respectively, and the current leader of the championship, Jerome d'Ambrosio, finishes 21 in the second car Mahindra Racing.

Tom Dillmann opened the back of the field for NIO.

Provisional grid of E-Prix de Santiago

Source link