Dallas Cowboys Mike McCarthy on late pass interference call


For a tight cover from Dak Prescott, Michael Gallop brushed aside his goal and put the Dallas Cowboys in position inside the 20s, with 21 seconds left to kick a regular potential tying field goal on Sunday night. Debut against Angeles Ram. Sophie Stadium.

But there was a flag on the play.

Gallup had officially made illegal contact with Ramus star cornerback Jalan Ramsey, and aggressive pass interference voided a 47-yard reception. Rample showed fairly standard contact before pulling his head and upper body back.

“I can tell you that it was clear and clear on the field, with one hand in the opposing player,” referee Tony Corrente said defending the call. “A full arm extension that created isolation. In all situations that would be called. We are not going to allow this at any time of the game.”

Mike McCarthy made his debut as head coach of the Cowboys, saying he was surprised at the time of the call and that both Gallup and Ramsey were fighting on the left-hand side.

“I was surprised that there was one of the two ways,” McCarthy said. “Obviously I’m very disappointed in the call, especially late. You don’t see it in a significant part of the game.”

Other cowboys disagreed.

Ramsey felt equally strongly that this was the right call.

“If they hadn’t said that, I would have been really upset,” Ramsay said. “It was clear as day, in my opinion.”

After two plays, Prescott’s fourth and 20 passes fell to the ground easily as Dallas managed only 15 net yards in their final 10 plays of the game. Rama held on to win 20–17.

“It was a very big opportunity,” ‘Prescott said. “We had a big two-minute drive at the end of the half. We were still able to move and get some progress, but we didn’t finish it. But this game was 1.”

The report used information from ESPN’s Todd Archer and The Associated Press.

    .