Connecticut for those who do not wear masks


Connecticut Village. Ned Lamont (D) said Monday that the state would impose fines on those who do not comply with the state’s mask mandate and impose limits on the capacity of the incident.

Under a new executive order issued from Lamont, residents will have to pay a fine of $ 100 for wearing masks, up to $ 250 for going to large unauthorized events, and up to $ 500 for planning unauthorized events.

Under current rules, incidents are limited to 25 people indoors and 100 people outside.

Connecticut chief operating officer Josh Gebley said the order would come into force on Thursday midnight. He told the newspaper that the state had struggled to implement the mandate.

Local officials can currently issue a $ 1,000 fine for violations of a state travel advisory or misdemeanor charge, which many locals consider excessive.

“There really wasn’t much to be done, because a lot of people watched [a misdemeanor charge] If you can’t make a distance socially, then it’s too harsh to fail to wear a mask, “Gable told Courtant. “So he asked for this new tool, an infection that was a bit of a step-down enforcement.”

Fines already exist for some individual municipalities in the state, such as the city of Simsbury, where violating either masking or social take away orders is a $ 250 fine.

“It comes up again and again to the point where we felt it was appropriate to do it,” Gable told Kurtan.

State positivity for coronovirus testing as ordered is increasing. The rate was below 1 percent between mid-July and early September, but peaked at 1.5 percent last Wednesday and has not returned below 1 percent since.

According to Johns Hopkins University, there have been 54,895 confirmed cases and 4,485 deaths in the state as of Tuesday.

.