A new law in California allows more people from anywhere in the country up to three months off work, thanks to caring for a family member, on the part of a nursing mother who gave her child work with her on the last day. Brought to do. State legislative sessions vote for it.
Gov. Gavin Newsom signed the law nearly two weeks after sarcasm swept through the state legislature minutes before the midnight deadline. It was passed in the Legislative Assembly because Vicky Wicks, a female legislator from the Assembly, was a Democrat from Oakland who returned to the Legislature from her maternity leave to vote after Assembly Speaker Anthony Rendon requested her to deny the proxy. He later apologized to Vix.
Click Here To Get Fox Trade On The Go
Vix cast her vote with her child in her favor. A video of her bringing her child to the assembly floor was widely shared on social media.
“I wanted to cast that vote,” he said. “With my daughter by my side, it felt very important.”
California was the first state to allow people up to 12 weeks to care for a member of their family, while still paying a portion of their salary. The money comes from disability insurance taxes that workers pay.
But since that law came into force in 2004, many people working for small companies have not used it because they are not guaranteed to keep their jobs. In most cases, state and federal laws protect jobs only for those who work in companies with at least 50 employees.
KUMO: New youth traveling to Hot Korot, lost everywhere
The law, signed on Thursday by Newsom, provides job security to companies with at least five employees. According to the National Conference of State Legislatures, the law is one of the most expanding in the country.
“The COVID-19 epidemic has only indicated the need for a family holiday policy that truly serves the families and workers who run our economy,” Newsom said in a news release.
California already allows women to take four months of unpaid leave for pregnancy disability. But it is rare for women to take a full four months, as they must have pregnancy-related complications that hinder their work.
Pay for patenting olive garden
The bill was a priority for labor unions, but did not happen due to stiff opposition from business groups.
The California Chamber of Commerce said it was “disappointed” Newsom signed the law because it adds “a new burden to small employers”. The president and chief executive Alan Zamberberg urged small businesses to focus on what they need now, noting that they could be sued for not following the law.
Laws signed to Law Newsom only apply to employees who have worked at least 1,250 hours in the past year, or about 24 hours per week. It forms a relationship with a new child or takes care of a parent, grandparent, grandchild, sibling, spouse, or domestic partner.
Read more on Fox Business
“With this bill, millions of hardworking Californians will eventually be able to use paid family vacation benefits without fear of losing their jobs,” said Hannah-Beth Jackson, author of the bill.