Bucks Budenholzer was named best coach by his teammates

10:16 a.m. ET

  • Adrian WojnarowskiESPN

Milwaukee Bucks coach Mike Budenholzer has been chosen as the 2019 Coach of the Year for the National Association of Basketball Coaches, the league announced.

The Michael H. Goldberg NCAA Coach of the Year Award, named in honor of Goldberg, the late president of the group, surveys the 30 leading NBA coaches and requires no one to vote on their own.

Budenholzer led the Bucks to 60 wins and the league's best record in his first season with Milwaukee.

1 related

Among his competitors who also received votes were Kenny Atkinson of Brooklyn, Michael Malone of Denver, Nate McMillan of Indiana, Gregg Popovich of San Antonio, Doc Rivers of the Clippers, Quin Snyder of Utah and Terry Stotts of Portland.

"It is an incredible honor to be recognized by your colleagues, and that makes this award truly special," Budenholzer said in a statement. "Thanks to my colleagues in the NBA, and most importantly, thanks to our players and staff in Milwaukee, the work of this year's players and staff has given our team and our fans a very special season."

Budenholzer won the Red Auerbach Trophy, which was selected by the media as NBA Coach of the Year in 2015. He helped the Atlanta Hawks win 60 games that season.

In the previous two years of voting, Dwane Casey won in 2018 and Mike D & # 39; Antoni and Erik Spoelstra were co-winners in the inaugural vote in 2017.

Source link