Barbados became a republic, removing Queen Elizabeth II as head of state

Barbados announced plans to remove Queen Elizabeth II as its head of state by November 2021 and transition to a republic.

The Caribbean island nation, which gained independence from the United Kingdom in 1966, said it would now “take the next logical step towards absolute sovereignty and become a republic by the time we celebrate the 55th anniversary of our independence.”

Bill to pull out of EU exam in UK as Brexit drama Boris Johnson

Governor-General Sandra Mason said in front of Parliament on Tuesday that the time to read the speech written by Prime Minister Mia Matli has gone completely backward. “Barbadians want a Barbadian state head. It is the ultimate statement of faith about who we are and what we are capable of achieving. ”

Barbados gained independence from its colonial ruler decades ago, but according to Britain’s The Independent, remained associated with Queen Elizabeth II as her legal and practical, but non-political, monarchy. After establishing its own state next year, the nation, like many other former regions of the British Empire, is expected to become a republic within the Commonwealth.

Queen Elizabeth established her country to join a drive-in in her area

Buckingham Palace said the issue was a matter for the people of Barbados, Reuters reported.

“Barbados and the UK are united in our shared history, culture, language and more. We have a lasting partnership and will continue to work with all of our valued Caribbean partners, ”a British Foreign Office spokesman said.

Barbados was first seized by England in 1625 and became notorious as a stop in the translatonic slave trade. The colonists will send laborers to work in the rich sugarcane production industry.

Click here to get the Fox News app

The country would join the former Caribbean colonies Trinidad and Tobago, Dominica and Guyana, which all gained independence and became republics in the 1960s and 1970s, but remained within the Commonwealth.

A voluntary political association of 54 member states, led by Queen Elizabeth II, is almost all the former territories of the British Empire.