A lucky bounce helped Virginia beat Auburn for a place in the NCAA tournament final



The officials in last night's Auburn-Virginia Final Four game missed a big call and caused a controversial ending to a game that deserved much better, as the referees of the university usually do. With less than a second remaining, Samir Doughty of Auburn made a mistake in the worst case and committed a foul on Kyle Guy, one of the best free throws shooters in the country, in his probable attempt to gain three points. It was a call that surprised many, given the old belief that officials must "swallow their whistles" in the final moments of the game so that players can decide at the expense of a little extra physicality. Guy would continue to hit his three free throws to give his team a 63-62 victory and a trip to the final.

But, despite the cries of many, it was the right call. No, the real controversy was not discovered until shortly after the game ended. In the second review of the play, just before the Virginia limits, it seemed that Ty Jerome, of Virginia, had lost control of the ball of his own leg, had recovered it and then continued to dribble as if nothing had happened. Usually, it is called as a double bargaining, but officials did nothing about it. In fact, not even the players or coaches who had some of the best views of the game did not seem to know what happened.

Take the interview between Tracy Wolfson and Guy from CBS, for example. Wolfson asked Guy about the "controversial call" at the end, but that meant the shot and he only mentioned Jerome's confidence in him when he talked about the pbading of limits.

It was open for a fraction of a second. Ty had confidence in me. Controversial or not, it does not matter. We got the victory. I have never been part of something that is controversial. I just can not express how I feel now.

Even on the side of the Tigers, the only controversy they noticed was about the lack of shooting itself.

"I thought the game was over and then I saw someone's hand with a whistle", [Auburn badistant coach] Steve Pearl said. "I thought: They called a foul and they're sending one of the best free-kick shooters in the country, if not the best, to the line. Obviously, it's a very difficult way to end the game." Outdoor

"It seemed that the referee was not about to [make] the call [on Guy’s shot]"Doughty said." I can not tell you what was going on in the referee's mind. I'm pretty sure they're going to make the best decision for their ability. I can not really say what was going on in his mind and what was so late. "

Only Bruce Pearl he really played the double dribble and that's because Wolfson mentioned it to him right after the game, who, like the rest of us, probably had the benefit of the slow-motion replay that takes place after the game.

As to how it was lost, CBS Gene Steratore offered the idea that the ball bounced in an "unusual" manner that normally does not occur when it bounces off the back of someone's leg.

It's a plausible theory, but it's no excuse to miss a call when it's right next to the action as an officer who considered himself qualified enough to be in the Final Four. It is badumed that the double dribbles should not be debated, it is "supposed" that they should be left for things like the scopes and the faults committed.

However, the idea that an atypical rebound fooled an official to allow a player to set up a winning shot for his team, or the resulting miss correctly called in this case, is as similar to March's as you can get with a Final (for better or worse).


Source link