5 things you should know about marijuana in Massachusetts – Special – southcoasttoday.com – tech2.org

5 things you should know about marijuana in Massachusetts – Special – southcoasttoday.com



[ad_1]


Gerry Tuoti / Wicked Local Newsbank Editor

A year after Mbadachusetts voters approved a vote to legalize marijuana, legal marijuana sales remain several months out.

State regulators are working to lay the foundations for a new marijuana industry, and lawmakers pbaded a new law in July that modifies the measure that voters approved last year.

Here are five things you should know about the legal status of marijuana, one year after the 2016 vote.

Buying and selling

Possession of limited amounts of marijuana has been legal in Mbadachusetts since last December, but it is still illegal for a person without a retail license to sell marijuana for recreational use. Since the Cannabis Control Commission is still establishing regulations, retail sales are not expected to start until July 2018.

According to state law, it is legal to give up to an ounce of marijuana as a gift, as long as it is not received. compensation.

When retail sales begin, the pot will be subject to up to 20 percent in combined state and local taxes. In cities and towns where the majority of voters opposed the issue of the 2016 vote to legalize marijuana, the municipal council or the board of directors of select ones can ban retail sales. In communities where the majority of voters favored legalization in 2016, a popular referendum is required to prohibit or limit retail sales of marijuana.

Marijuana possession limits

Adults 21 years of age or older may legally possess up to 1 ounce of marijuana on their person, but not more than 5 grams of a marijuana concentrate. You can have up to 10 ounces of marijuana in your main house, but it must be locked in a safe place. Five quarts collectively weigh approximately 1 ounce, and a nickel weighs 5 grams.

Where can adults smoke?

Public consumption of marijuana is illegal, period. State law prohibits people from using the drug in places that have prohibited the use of tobacco. Employers can prohibit the use of marijuana in the workplace.

You can smoke marijuana legally on your property, but it can be complicated if you rent. Owners are allowed, through rental agreements, to explicitly ban smoking and growing marijuana on their property. State law, however, does not allow landlords to prohibit tenants from consuming smoke-free marijuana products, such as groceries, on the property, unless prohibiting such consumption causes the owner to violate federal law.

Homegrown pot

State law allows adults to grow their own marijuana at home. There is a limit of six plants per adult over 21, or 12 per household. The plants should be grown in an area that is equipped with a padlock or safety device. They can not be visible from a public place with the naked eye or without the use of an airplane.

People who process their home-grown pot to make an extract can not legally use a liquid or gas, other than alcohol, that has a flashpoint below 100 degrees.

Driving with a pot

Smoking marijuana while driving or operating a vehicle under the influence of marijuana products, including edibles, remains illegal. It is also against the law to have an open container or an unsealed package of marijuana or marijuana products in a car, unless it is in the trunk.

[ad_2]
Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.